Posted by: suekenney | November 23, 2011

Random Musings

When I first started this blog, I had intended to spend most of my time commenting on grammatical or literary issues.  Hmmm.  Hasn’t happened, has it?  I’ve made a few comments in those areas, but mostly it’s been more personal.  Funny how that changed.

Tomorrow, as I type this, is our American Thanksgiving.  Jim and I will spend it mostly with his family, at his mom’s house.  While I’m thinking of it, let me just say that I am thankful for the in-laws I got when I married Jim.  We don’t always see eye to eye, but they’ve been very supportive and caring over the past 30 years, and I wouldn’t trade them for another family. 

Speaking of family:  my maternal grandmother did copious research into the family background, and made family tree charts galore, which my mother copied over.  Now I’m trying to copy them all myself, because my mother’s handwriting wasn’t always the greatest.  And I thought I would also make a list of all the names so I could make an index at some point.  Wow!  Are there ever a lot of names!  Since in some lines my grandmother was able to go back seven or eight generations…let’s see, seven generations back from me, there is a total possible 128 names (if she had all the blanks filled).  That’s in that one generation.  If you count all the generations leading up to that…1 (me) + 2 (my parents) + 4 (my grandparents) + 8 + 16 + 32 + 64 + 128 = 255, if I added right.

And that’s from ME…going back from my GRANDMOTHER, that’s another couple of generations, so another 256 + 512.  If, of course, all the blanks were filled in.  But even with several names unknown and left blank, there’s still an awful lot of names.  Enough to be very daunting.  But it makes me thankful for the technology we have available now.  When my grandmother was doing all this, and even my mother, there were no computer programs (okay, there weren’t any personal computers!) that would automatically alphabetize your list of names – or any of the other little tricks that Word and its ilk can do.  In other words, I can just type in the names as I come to them and alphabetize later.  Whew!

Final random thought:  I have one grandson (keeping in the theme of family here).  He is the cutest, brightest little kid I’ve ever seen (she said, totally without prejudice!).  He’s just beginning to talk.  Well, I got a call this morning that as his daddy was leaving for work, my grandson actually said “Love ya, DaDa.”  His daddy was probably grinning all the way to work (a 45-minute commute).  More words come daily.  Can’t wait to hear him for myself!

And let me slip in a quick plug for the “Related Articles” listed below.  They’re both extremely different, but both very good.  Give ’em a read.

Responses

  1. I find genealogy fascinating. My ancestors were Puritans, so I love looking at their names. It’s so much fun! (Thanks for the plug, by the way)

    Meggan

    • You’re welcome! Yes, those names – I think my favorite so far in the family lists are Willing, Cutting, and Deliverance.

  2. Hi Mom,
    It was actually “Love Ya, DaDa”. It was amazingly cute!

    Your loving daughter- in law
    Mary

  3. […] Random Musings (kenneyediting.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

