Posted by: suekenney | February 6, 2012

Not Quite a Bucket List

This is not quite a bucket list because it’s what I want to do by age 60 – I’m hoping to have another list going well past 60.  God willing, I will survive for several more years.

Got this idea from another blog’s post; I think it was titled “29 by 29.”  Well, I left age 29 behind a very long time ago; I’m on the downhill slope to 60.  So my list will be a little longer – I’m thinking of “60 by 60” – but I’m also giving myself over 2 years to finish it.  These are listed in random order, as thoughts come to me – not in any particular order of importance.

1.  See my older son start medical school.

2.  See my daughter-in-law begin her nurse’s training.

3.  See my younger son get his associate’s degree and decide what to do next.

4.  Hear my grandson speak his first full sentence.

5.  Expand my editing business.

6.  Get my enhanced driver’s license or my passport.

7.  Post on my blogs more often than once every week or month.

8.  Learn how to use Twitter.

9.  Scan in all the family pictures I inherited from my mother.

10.  Find the best way to share those pictures, and all the family history, with the rest of my family.

11.  Organize all the genealogy I inherited.

12.  Learn how to share photos online – on Facebook as well as other venues.

13.  See the Buffalo Bills win a Super Bowl.  (This may very well still be on my bucket list when I’m 100, but one can always dream, right?)

14.  See the Syracuse University men’s basketball team win another national championship.

15.  Get all my own photos into albums or scrapbooks.

16.  Write and publish a book about at least some part of my family history.

17.  Lose 100 pounds.

18.  Read (or reread) all of Jane Austen’s books.

19.  Get totally out of debt.

20.  Spend at least a couple days doing the tourist thing at Gettysburg.

21.  Find family houses in the Gettysburg area.

22.  Visit all of my brothers and sisters at their homes.

  • Rochester, NY
  • Phelps, NY
  • Frederick, MD
  • Poughkeepsie, NY
  • San Dimas, CA
  • Belleville, WA
  • Eagle River, AK

23.  Clean out our basement so we can use it for something other than storage.

24.  Get a spare bedroom set up.

Yeesh!  This is harder than I thought it would be.  Might have to make it 30 by 60 or 40 by 60.  After all, I’m getting older, so I shouldn’t have to do as much, right?

25.  Revisit Cape Cod; wade in the ocean.

26.  Visit the state of Maine.

27.  Visit the Monterey Bay Aquarium.

28.  Visit the National Aquarium in Baltimore and spend more time there than the last time.

29.  Go on a whale watch (and hope I don’t get seasick!).

30.  Start on my husband’s family’s genealogy.

31.  See a live moose in the wild (not real close, but close enough to recognize).

32.  Get in touch with more of my cousins.

33.  Maintain our garden really well all summer – not lose control halfway through July.

Y’know, I think that’s enough for now.  “33 by 60” – yeah, that sounds good.  Now to see how well I do in the next 2-1/2 years.

Responses

  1. This is a wonderful list and I hope to do my part to help it along. Also, I would love for us to do a few with you.

    • I’m sure you’ll be there for a number of them. Wouldn’t have it any other way.


Leave a Reply

Categories

