Posted by: suekenney | October 29, 2012

A New Challenge

I think I’m probably crazy.  I’ve been gone from home for almost a month and a half (helping tend brand new grandson!), and I have SOOO much to do to catch up.  But I think I’m going to give a shot at the National Novel Writing Month – NaNoWriMo, as some fondly know it.  It means trying to write a 50,000 novel in 30 days, at an average of approximately 1670 words per day.

Yep, crazy.  I really do have SOOOO much else to do.  But I think I’ll give it a go, see what comes of it.  No, I certainly don’t expect to come up with a clean, polished, ready-to-be-published novel in only 30 days.  I’m old enough, and have corrected enough high school English papers, to know that’s not going to happen.  Good writing, worthy to be published, takes time and effort, more than is possible in just 30 days.

I’ve always wanted to write something worth reading.  I’ve got mounds of unfinished stories stashed in various drawers and cupboards; most of them, quite frankly, are awful.  Blogging has become my new creative writing outlet.  There is, however, a world of difference between writing a few hundred words of condensed thought, and writing several thousand words of novel with characters, plot, theme, all the rest of it.  I think I’ll take the challenge to write something longer than I’ve done in a long time.

I already have some ideas about what I’m going to write about.  I may share more about it as the month of November progresses – if, of course, I can find the time to both blog and write a novel.  Should prove to be interesting.  I’ll let you know in December if I actually succeeded.  Stay tuned!

3 Days Until National Novel Writing Month (NaN...

3 Days Until National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) (Photo credit: smittenkittenorig)

Responses

  1. You have my complete support. I can’t wait to read what you come up with. Kisses from your grandsons.

    • Thanks! Right back at those two with grandma-kisses. Love them and miss them already!

  2. You probably are crazy but not alone! I, too, have 50000 things to catch up on and I’m always complaining about not having enough time as it is, but still I signed up for my first NaNo. I changed my mind a thousand times before finally signing up two days ago but now I feel excited and eager to see how far I get. Good luck 🙂

    • Thanks so much! And good luck to you too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

